Make It New Tec and explore New Tecumseth's three vibrant centres of Alliston, Beeton, and Tottenham, along with their beautiful rural surroundings.
Find places to eat, where to stay and shop, what to do, and what's happening in our community.
"It's the first day of autumn! A time of hot chocolatey mornings, and toasty marshmallow evenings, and, best of all, leaping into leaves!"
Winnie the Pooh Pooh's Grand Adventure
“Two sounds of autumn are unmistakable…the hurrying rustle of crisp leaves blown along the street…by a gusty wind, and the gabble of a flock of migrating geese.”
Village of Beeton
The Village of Beeton was known as a bustling centre of manufacturing. In 1874 the village's name was changed from Clarksville to Beeton to honour the influence of D.A. Jones on the village's development. Jones was the first commercial honey producer in Canada. He was influential in bringing the railway to Beeton and in determining the layout of much of the village's downtown core. By 1886 Beeton was home to 77 enterprises, including four hotels, knitting and woolen mills, sawmills, a newspaper, a cheese factory, a stove manufacturer, and four carriage makers. The Beeton Fall Fair has its roots in the 1840s and continues to be a significant annual event.
Village of Tottenham
Through the 1820s Irish families like the Nolans, Tegarts and Tottens settled this area before the Village of Tottenham was finally incorporated in 1884. Businesses flourished and the population grew to about 700 after the railway arrived in 1877. Tottenham was home to the Coleman Fare-Box Company, which shipped transit fare boxes all over the world. In 1921 widow Elizabeth Williams was elected to Tottenham's town council. Known around town as Aunt Daisy, Williams was the first woman locally to serve in this capacity. The Tottenham Conservation Area began as an informal swimming and picnic area on the property of George Nolan's mill and continues to be a central gathering place in Tottenham.
Town of Alliston
In 1847 British immigrant William Fletcher settled and built a mill on the Boyne River around which the Town of Alliston eventually developed. The Memorial Library was opened in 1924 by Sir Frederick Banting, who was born and raised in Alliston and won the Nobel Prize in 1923 as co-discoverer of insulin. The establishment of Stevenson Memorial Hospital in 1928 was made possible by donations from grocery store founder T.P. Loblaw who named the hospital for his grandparents. The area of present-day Riverdale Park and Museum on the Boyne was home to the fairgrounds and a racetrack and has been the focal point of many community activities for more than a century.