In the 1980's, a group of Wainfleet residents shared the same vision and worked diligently to make it come true. Thus in 1988, the first Marshville Heritage Festival was born. "The lifestyle of a Wainfleet farm family in the 1890's" was the theme of that first festival & still remains to today.
The Morgan-Neff Log Cabin & the Dean Sawmill, (that also housed the Palcso Blacksmith Shop) were the only buildings that year, both taken down and reconstructed by the Festival founders and volunteers. There were a small number of farm demonstrators, entertainment, Black Powder group, food vendors, crafters, Town Crier Robert Heil, and 5000 visitors. It was truly a successful Festival...well beyond their expectations!
As we open our 31st annual Festival we are thankful that these same people who reconstructed and moved 17 more buildings and who continue to give their time to keep improving and maintaining Wainfleet's unique Marshville Heritage Village. We are very grateful to many individuals and local businesses for their donations of equipment, cash, and artifacts over the past years. Our only source of revenue is from the three-day annual festival and is used to build, refurbish, and maintain this operation for the following year.
No one is paid and no public monies have ever been used.
Read more: www.marshvilleheritagefestival.ca